Aller au contenu principal
Accès ouvert déclaré 2022 article

Survival After Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy and Primary or Interval Cytoreductive Surgery in Ovarian Cancer

221Citations signalées, ce qui n’est pas une note de qualité
5Institutions déclarées
1Pays d’affiliation déclarés

Rattachement africain : kr. Niveau de preuve : code pays fourni par la source.

Le résumé fourni par la source

Importance: Ovarian cancer has the highest mortality rate among gynecologic malignant tumors. Data are lacking on the survival benefit of hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy (HIPEC) in women with ovarian cancer who underwent primary or interval cytoreductive surgery. Objective: To assess the clinical benefit of HIPEC after primary or interval maximal cytoreductive surgery in women with stage III or IV primary advanced ovarian cancer. Design, Setting, and Participants: In this single-blind randomized clinical trial performed at 2 institutions in South Korea from March 2, 2010, to January 22, 2016, a total of 184 patients with stage III or IV ovarian cancer with residual tumor size less than 1 cm were randomized (1:1) to a HIPEC (41.5 °C, 75 mg/m2 of cisplatin, 90 minutes) or control group. The primary end point was progression-free survival. Overall survival and adverse events were key secondary end points. The date of the last follow-up was January 10, 2020, and the data were locked on February 17, 2020. Exposures: Hyperthermic intraperitoneal chemotherapy after cytoreductive surgery. Main Outcomes and Measures: Progression-free and overall survival. Results: Of the 184 Korean women who underwent randomization, 92 were randomized to the HIPEC group (median age, 52.0 years; IQR, 46.0-59.5 years) and 92 to the control group (median age, 53.5 years; IQR, 47.5-61.0 years). After a median follow-up of 69.4 months (IQR, 54.4-86.3 months), median progression-free survival was 18.8 months (IQR, 13.0-43.2 months) in the control group and 19.8 months (IQR, 13.7-55.4 months) in the HIPEC group (P = .43), and median overall survival was 61.3 months (IQR, 34.3 months to not reported) in the control group and 69.5 months (IQR, 45.6 months to not reported) in the HIPEC group (P = .52). In the subgroup of interval cytoreductive surgery after neoadjuvant chemotherapy, the median progression-free survival was 15.4 months (IQR, 10.6-21.1 months) in the control group and 17.4 months (IQR, 13.8-31.5 months) in the HIPEC group (hazard ratio for disease progression or death, 0.60; 95% CI, 0.37-0.99; P = .04), and the median overall survival was 48.2 months (IQR, 33.8-61.3 months) in the control group and 61.8 months (IQR, 46.7 months to not reported) in the HIPEC group (hazard ratio, 0.53; 95% CI, 0.29-0.96; P = .04). In the subgroup of primary cytoreductive surgery, median progression-free survival was 29.7 (IQR, 17.2-90.1 months) in the control group and 23.9 months (IQR, 12.3-71.5 months) in the HIPEC group, and the median overall survival was not reached in the control group and 71.3 months (IQR, 45.6 months to not reported) in the HIPEC group. Conclusions and Relevance: The addition of HIPEC to cytoreductive surgery did not improve progression-free and overall survival in patients with advanced epithelial ovarian cancer. Although the results are from a subgroup analysis, the addition of HIPEC to interval cytoreductive surgery provided an improvement of progression-free and overall survival. Trial Registration: ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT01091636.

Ce résumé expose les affirmations des auteurs. BNTIC ne l’interprète pas comme une validation indépendante des résultats.

Le contrôle bibliographique ouvert

DOI retrouvé dans Crossref DOI retrouvé ; titre concordant.

Titre Crossref
Survival After Hyperthermic Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy and Primary or Interval Cytoreductive Surgery in Ovarian Cancer
Date Crossref
01/05/2022
Éditeur
American Medical Association (AMA)
Type
journal-article

Ce recoupement confirme des métadonnées liées au DOI. Il ne confirme ni la méthode ni les conclusions de l’étude, et il ne compte pas comme une seconde source scientifique indépendante.

Où se fait cette recherche

  • National Cancer Center pays non établi dans la notice
    Établissement de santé
  • Ajou University Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology pays non établi dans la notice
    Université ou école supérieure
  • Samsung Medical Center pays non établi dans la notice
    Établissement de santé
  • Research Institute for Future Medicine Division of Rare and Refractory Cancer pays non établi dans la notice
    Établissement de santé
  • Chungnam National University pays non établi dans la notice
    Université ou école supérieure
  • Center for Clinical Trial pays non établi dans la notice
    Établissement de santé
  • Center for Gynecologic Cancer pays non établi dans la notice
    Institution
  • Department of Cancer Control and Policy pays non établi dans la notice
    Institution
  • Biostatistics Collaboration Team pays non établi dans la notice
    Institution
  • HERINGS pays non établi dans la notice
    Institution
  • for the HIPEC for Ovarian Cancer Collaborators pays non établi dans la notice
    Institution

National Cancer Center, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology — Ajou University et Samsung Medical Center, avec 8 autres affiliations.

Une affiliation ne permet pas de déduire la nationalité d’un auteur.

Les sujets associés

Intraperitoneal and Appendiceal MalignanciesOvarian cancer diagnosis and treatmentNeutropenia and Cancer Infections

BNTIC News n’est pas le producteur de ces données. Les publications sont interrogées à la demande dans Crossref, OpenAIRE, DOAJ, Europe PMC, HAL, DataCite, AfricArXiv, ROR et la Banque mondiale, sans clé d’accès. OpenAlex reste optionnel. Aucun service payant n’est nécessaire et aucune donnée externe n’est enregistrée en base. Consulter les sources et leurs limites.